The age of consent is different in every state but here in New Jersey the age of consent for sexual conduct is 16 years old. “The penalties for violating New Jersey’s age of consent are fairly stiff, but in line with the majority of other states. The crime of aggravated sexual assault, which is sex with a person under the age of 13, carries a penalty of 10 to 20 years in prison.” This is a very serious matter, and while we all know that some teenagers are sexually active it is very important to remain educated on the age of consent and with the laws that are in place. It is also worth noting that here in New Jersey a child as young as 13 years old can also be legally engaged in sexual activities if the defendant is less than 4 years older than the victim. Now to a lot of people this age can be seen as too young. One can argue that a young child at that age is still growing and still learning, so how can they consent to something that they may not have full knowledge of? This is an important conversation to have with each other and I encourage you all to leave your thoughts in the comment section below.